Facebook, and the White Screen

white-facebook
I don’t know whether this has ever happened to anyone else. This is what happens if I attempt to log into Facebook in my account:

Yep, that’s it a totally white screen.

This is been going on over a day now. Just as a second test, what do you think might happen if I log in again, but using “m.facebook.com” instead of “www” at the start of the address? Well, I do get to see a bit more:

error-facebook

In this case, I get an error message as you can see. But still none of my real stuff.

But the plot thickens. I have a program called Messenger, which is a Facebook Messenger app for a Desktop computer. And that logs in to my chat, and works perfectly. I have another chat client called Pidgin, which also logs into my chat, and still works with facebook account. In fact Pidgin has an advantage that I can use it with multiple accounts (but can’t display stickers or pictures though it does work with emoticons).

Onto my mobile phone, the official Facebook app works just fine. However, another app called “Tinfoil for Facebook” which basically runs m.facebook.com, but with a security wrapper, just puts up exactly the same error message as running the mobile version on my computer, as does just running the mobile version from any browser on my mobile. Only the official Facebook Mobile app works.

I have tried 3 different browsers on 2 different computers, including “Incognito” modes, and there is no difference. All the stuff I found on the internet was the usual quack remedies about clearing cookies and so on. One of the browsers on one of the computers had never been used for Facebook before. So go figure.

I thought I ought to see what happened if I set up a second account. It was a bit long winded, because all the email addresses had already been declared to my first account. Eventually I tried one that I had but never use, and was able to log into this second account. So my new account, David, put in a friend request to my original account, Dave, and Dave accepted the friend request from the mobile phone. And when I log in as David, but visit Dave’s page, everything is there as it should be. It’s just that Dave can’t log in!

Fortunately “Pages Manager” on my mobile also worked, and Dave was able to pass control of Pages that I administer to David.

Judging by some of the stuff I’ve seen on the internet, the only thing you can do when this happens is to wait it out. And maybe ask all my friends to add my new page. The odds are that, at any time, at least one will be working!

Leave a Reply

